Call for Nominations: Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education
2014 Focus is Narrowing Achievement Gaps
PR Newswire
Mar. 3

WHAT:      The 2014 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education will be awarded to three individuals who have found ways to successfully narrow a particular kind of achievement gap or gaps in a manner that lends itself to replication on a broad scale. Details on the nomination process follow.

As in the past, the 2014 McGraw Prize in Education will be awarded to exceptional individuals from elementary and secondary education to higher education. 

In recent years a substantial number of policy makers, educators, corporate leaders and other concerned citizens have sought to find ways to narrow academic achievement gaps. Some view this task as a matter of basic fairness and equity – assuring that all students have the opportunity to compete on a level playing field – while others stress the broader social and economic consequences.

A Prize will be awarded in each of the following categories:

Global: Given that the debate over how to improve academic achievement is one that now transcends national borders, the Prize will honor someone who has had a demonstrable impact on education policy and practice internationally. Persons outside of the U.S. are eligible to apply.

Rising Star: Candidates will be a relatively young practitioner, researcher or policy maker who, based on his or her accomplishments, shows the promise of becoming a game changer and making even greater contributions in the future as it relates to narrowing an achievement gap. This person imagines a future where education reform takes on new shapes and forms, and breaks boundaries. He or she is a visionary and has rolled up his or her sleeves to craft new solutions.

Lifetime Achievement: The Prize will honor an educational pioneer who has developed an innovative concept or approach to teaching and learning that has narrowed an achievement gap and that has also spurred others to create solutions. Candidates' work will demonstrate measurable results and will have been put into practice and applied on a broad scale.

The annual Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, begun in 1988, honors remarkable individuals who are focused on effectively improving education for all.  Past Prize recipients include leaders in community-based education, such as Harlem Children's Zone Founder Geoffrey Canada; business leaders, including retired Chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin Corporation Norman Augustine; and other pioneering innovators, such as Khan Academy's Sal Khan, Teach for America Founder Wendy Kopp, High Tech High Founder Larry Rosenstock and MIT's Professor of Learning Research Mitchel Resnick

Prize recipients are nominated by the public and selected by a distinguished Board of Judges. Recipients are honored at a dinner in New York City and each receives a $50,000 prize. 

WHO:              Individuals who are committed to the cause of education, and have led or are leading efforts that have had a significant and measurable impact are eligible.  Institutions, boards, organizations or other groups are not eligible. 

WHEN:            Completed nomination forms must be received by March 21, 2014.  Honorees will be announced in September 2014.

WHERE:          To nominate an individual for the 2014 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, apply online. (For your reference, a PDF version of the form can be downloaded).

For more information, please visit

Media Contact:

Emily Fredrix Goodman

/PRNewswire --  March 3, 2014/

SOURCE McGraw-Hill Financial